PHOTO (select to view enlarged photo)
Screen Shot from 1997 Automotive Hall of Fame Grand Opening Gala Cybercast, Caroll Shelby interview

Co-founders Note February 27 2022, 26 years later. The Auto Channel was at the AOF and streaming LIVE from the Grand Opening of The Automotive Hall of Fame Gala, creating the world’s first live cybercast event, ever.

As you can see from the the coverage elements and a list of interviewees, we have uncovered a historic treasure.

So why can’t you watch these historic videos?

The problem is that Microsoft stopped supporting the streaming technology we used, although they swore to us that they would support it forever.

The Auto Channel’s pioneering video streaming team is ready to serve these videos, so, if there are any Microsoft folks here who wish to help we would love to have them provide the code so we can recode to bring these video pieces to life. [email protected]

DEARBORN, MICH. – February 10, 2022 – The 2022 Automotive Hall of Fame’s Induction & Awards
Ceremony on July 21, 2022, will recognize a truly diverse collection of mobility pioneers from around the
globe. This group includes trailblazers and icons who defied personal, professional, and cultural odds to
bring their immeasurable contributions to the automotive industry.

“This year’s class of inductees continues to recognize the diversity of contributions to this industry,” said
Sarah Cook, president of the Automotive Hall of Fame. “From manufacturing to racing, road travel to the
rarest of luxury performance vehicles, this group tells some of the most interesting and important
stories of the industry, and we couldn’t be more pleased to recognize their achievements and welcome
them into the Hall of Fame.”

2022 Automotive Hall of Fame Inductees

Widely considered the single greatest honor an individual can receive in the automotive industry,
induction into the Automotive Hall of Fame is reserved for noteworthy individuals whose efforts have
helped shape the automotive and mobility market.

The inductees of this year’s class include:

  • Alma and Victor Green, authors and publishers of The Green Book, a travel guide for Blacks
    traveling America. Published from 1936-1966, featuring more than 10,000 businesses over its
    publishing history, the book was distributed by mail order, word of mouth, and by purchase at
    Esso gas stations across the country. Alma and her predominantly female staff continued
    publishing The Green Book after Victor’s death in 1960. The last edition of The Green Book was
    published in 1966, helping Black Americans travel the country safely.
  • Lu Guanqiu, a Chinese entrepreneur and trailblazer who used his creativity and wits to evolve
    Wanxiang from a local bicycle repair shop in the 1960s to a global supplier. Wanxiang was the
    first Chinese company to sell automobile parts to American OEMs and now has operations in 22
    states in the U.S. Lu’s leadership brought a greater understanding of global climate issues to
    China. He spearheaded the drive for clean energy, including starting several battery and electric
    vehicle initiatives in the late 1990s. He then acquired and revived clean energy related
    companies A123 Systems, and Fisker Automotive Holdings, Inc., which transformed into Karma
  • Ferruccio Lamborghini, an Italian entrepreneur who created the iconic Lamborghini line of
    luxury performance sports cars. Lamborghini first found success following WWII, manufacturing
    tractors in Northern Italy for local small farms. His proclivity for mechanical quality allowed him
    to expand his product lines, and his success enabled him to purchase a variety of sports cars,
    including a Ferrari. A quibble with the vehicle’s transmission inspired his own tinkering and the
    determination that he could create a better vehicle. Thus, Automobili Ferruccio Lamborghini
    S.p.A. came to life. His attention to detail led his team’s delivery of cutting-edge, mid-engine
    supercars like the Miura and later the astonishing Countach.
  • Taiichi Ohno, a Japanese engineer and former Toyota executive who helped establish the fabled
    Toyota Production System (TPS). TPS is a way of making high-quality goods in the quickest and
    most efficient way possible. TPS revolutionized not only the Japanese automotive industry, but
    global vehicle manufacturing as well. Ohno spent much of his career training and consulting
    suppliers and employees on his revolutionary manufacturing process. Ohno left us with three
    books outlining his revolutionary philosophies: Toyota Production System (1978), Workplace
    Management (1984), and Just-in-Time for Today and Tomorrow (1988).
  • Lyn St. James, a true pioneer in advancing women’s participation in the automotive and racing
    worlds. She was the first woman to win the Indianapolis 500 Rookie of the Year award in 1992
    and competed in a total of 15 IndyCar races over nine years. In 1994, she established the
    Women in the Winner’s Circle Foundation and created the Complete Driver Development
    Program, which trained female racers from around the world. She also organized the Women’s
    Sports Foundation, Women in the Winner’s Circle Project Podium Scholarship. She mentors
    young women in motorsports, is a motivational speaker, the author of two memoirs, serves on
    the board of the United States Automobile Competition Committee, and represents the United
    States on the Federation Internationale de l’Automobile Women in Motorsports Commission.
    Event Details
  • The Automotive Hall of Fame Induction & Awards Ceremony will be held on Thursday, July 21, 2022, at
    The Icon (200 Walker St. Detroit, MI). Event sponsorships are available and can be purchased online at

    About the Automotive Hall of Fame

    Automotive Hall of Fame (AHF) is a non-profit organization that honors and celebrates the
    automotive/mobility industry’s leaders and innovators through awards and programs that challenge
    young and old alike to higher levels of personal achievement. Founded in 1939, the Automotive Hall of
    Fame has honored 755 awardees from around the world, who have impacted and influenced the
    automotive and mobility industries